A Guide to FPAS

Updated: Mar 30, 2021

*Please note that the information provided below may be subject to change due to COVID-19*

The Foundation Programme Application System, or FPAS, is the process in which medical school graduates apply for their Foundation jobs – F1 and F2.

There are three different types of applications:

  • Standard Foundation Programme (which all applicants must apply for)

  • Academic Foundation Programme

  • Foundation Priority Programme

The general dates for the application process are listed below (specific dates are added to the UKFPO’s website closer to the opening date).


There are 20 Foundation Schools (also known as deaneries) in the UK. The School in which you would like to apply to depends on you. Each deanery has a mix of big cities and smaller towns, teaching hospitals and district general hospitals. Many applicants either choose the deanery of their medical school or the one closest to home. However, some applicants also choose to explore new areas of the country. When applying, applicants must rank all 20 deaneries depending on their preference.

Map of Foundation Schools in UK